Roaring River State Park to host bluegrass concert series all summer

State News
Lake Sun Leader

Bluegrass and the great outdoors makes for the perfect road trip as Roaring River, one of Missouri’s most beautiful state parks celebrates summer with music. Set among the hills of southwest Missouri, Roaring River State Park is worth the drive. Known for trout fishing, the park offers a nature center and seven great hiking trails. For those who prefer a weekend getaway, the park has camping and other amenities.

Roaring River State Park invites the public to come out to the park this summer for evening concerts as the Summer Bluegrass Music Concert Series continues. The free shows, featuring local bluegrass bands, take place 7 to 9 p.m. every Friday evening throughout the summer in the park amphitheater.

The schedule includes:

June 12 - Flyin’ Buzzards

June 19 - Sugar Mountain Band

June 26 - Flyin’ Buzzards

July 3 - Ripplin’ Creek Band

July 4 - Roaring River Bluegrass Jam Night

July 10 - Flyin’ Buzzards

July 17 - Spillwater Drive Band

July 24 - Flyin’ Buzzards

July 31 - Sugar Mountain Band

Aug. 7 - Flyin’ Buzzards

Aug. 14 - Ozark Mountain Revival

Aug. 15 - Sugar Mountain Band, Flyin’ Buzzards, The Bakers

Aug. 21 - Flyin’ Buzzards

Aug. 28 - Shuyler Valley Band

Sept. 4 - Possum Trot Band

Sept, 5 - Flyin’ Buzzards

Sept. 11 - Sugar Mountain

Sept. 18 - Flyin’ Buzzards

Sept. 25 - Ripplin’ Creek Band

Bench seating is available at the amphitheater, but attendees are welcome bring a lawn chair or blanket.

Visitors are strongly encouraged to follow social distancing guidelines, come prepared with hand sanitizer and bottled water, and please stay home if you are sick.

Roaring River State Park is located seven miles south of Cassville on Highway 112 in Barry County, in southwest Missouri. For more information about these concerts, contact the park office at 417-847-2539.

For more information about Missouri state parks and historic sites, visit the web at Missouri State Parks is a division of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources.