School Sales Tax Holiday held this weekend
It’s hard to believe summer vacation is quickly coming to an end. It’s time to start planning for back-to-school. Shoppers will have three days this coming weekend to make school-related purchases with no state tax, and in some cases save on county and city taxes.
The annual Missouri back School Sales Tax Holiday begins on Aug. 6 and runs through Aug. 8.
Based on information from the Missouri Department of Revenue, the holiday is effective during a three-day period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on the first Friday in August and ending at midnight on Sunday. Certain back-to-school purchases, such as clothing, school supplies, computers, and other items as defined by the statute, are exempt from sales tax for this time period only.
The sales tax holiday applies to state, county and local sales taxes when a local jurisdiction chooses to participate in the holiday. However, local jurisdictions can choose to not participate in the holiday if they enact an ordinance to not participate and notify the department 45 days prior to the sales tax holiday.
Camden and Morgan counties will not take part in the holiday, though Miller will. This can create some confusion for shoppers in Lake Ozark as the city has also decided to participate in the tax-free weekend. Businesses located in Miller County in Lake Ozark won’t collect any local sales tax from shoppers while businesses in the portion of Lake Ozark that sits in Camden County will. The Osage Beach Board has also chosen to participate in the Back to School Sales Tax Holiday
In Morgan County, expect to be charged the county’s one percent sales tax. Only the city of Laurie has opted out of participating in the weekend and will also collect its city tax. A number of other taxing entities within Morgan County will not be collecting its sales tax.
Statewide, there are 52 counties, 170 cities and eight taxing districts that will continue collecting local tax.
The state’s 4.225 percent tax will still be waived for those entities for the weekend.
The sales tax exemption is limited to:
• Clothing – any article having a taxable value of $100 or less
• School supplies – not to exceed $50 per purchase
• Computer software – taxable value of $350 or less
• Personal computers – not to exceed $1,500
• Computer peripheral devices – not to exceed $1,500
• Graphing calculators - not to exceed $150
For more information, or to check county and municipal sales tax rates, go to the Missouri Department of Revenue’s website dor.mo.gov.