On Thursday, May 24, Co-Mo Electric will welcome the organization's member-owners to this year's annual meeting.

On Thursday, May 24, Co-Mo Electric will welcome the organization’s member-owners to this year’s annual meeting. Doors for the event officially open at 4 p.m. at the co-op’s Operations Center at 448 Richard Blvd., in Tipton. The business meeting will begin at 6:30. The evening meal will cease at 6:15 p.m.

Cooperatives are democratic organizations controlled by their members, who actively participate in each year’s annual meeting by hearing an update on cooperative business and taking part in the election of directors. A nine-person nominating committee has compiled a list of candidates for each district. They are as follows:

District One

Cheryl Albin, Otterville

Warren Bruce Wolfe, Pilot Grove

District Two

Gary Harris, Boonville

Terry Wiemholt, Wooldridge

District Three

Daniel Britton, Versailles

Rodney Schad, Versailles (incumbent)

The 79th annual meeting will include some local favorites. Lutz’s BBQ will cater the event. Back by popular demand will be Co-Mo Connect informational booth and bucket truck rides for the kids. The co-op will also host a health fair for attendees as well as a kid’s zone. Co-Mo will also be accepting canned food donations for the Buddy Pack Program.