|
The Lake News Online
  • Osage Beach wants public input on outer road idea

  • As the city of Osage Beach contemplates construction of an outer road at the west end of the city, officials are asking for residents' feedback.
    • email print
  • »  RELATED CONTENT
  • As the city of Osage Beach contemplates construction of an outer road at the west end of the city, officials are asking for residents' feedback.
    The city has received several questions about the proposed extension of Osage Beach Parkway/Business 54 from its dead-end location near Lazy Days Road west to Y Road, and the city's partnership with MoDOT.
    "It became apparent that additional information needed to be presented to the public," Mayor Penny Lyons said in a prepared news release.
    She noted that information has been available at various board of aldermen meetings, but the summer season has made it difficult for residents and business owners to attend. The board voted at its last meeting to have City Attorney Ed Rucker research the legality of the city obtaining a loan (putting the city in debt) without public approval; visit with right of way property owners about what additional information is needed for them to move forward with donating their land to the project; and contact MoDOT to see how a three-phase, multi-year construction project would fit with MoDOT's financial outlook
    City information
    The city said in its release that:
    •An extension of Osage Beach Parkway/Business 54 by constructing a two-lane outer road to the Y Road interchange would allow for safer ingress/egress to existing businesses currently accessed directly from the Expressway. An outer road, according to the Highway Crash Location Manual, would provide a 40 percent reduction in accidents. Extension to Y Road would also provide a safer westbound access to Camdenton. People continue to make U-turns and go against traffic to go west at Key Largo.
    •The removal of the dead end is projected to provide a 20-percent increase in traffic on the west end.
    •The city would gain a seventh interchange and would have an area for signage to promote access to the community.
    •Timing is critical for funding the project, according to the city. MoDOT has proposed a cost-share with the city where the could would be responsible for one-third of the cost. The city's share would be $1,167,000 for more than one mile of a two-lane road with right-of-way for utilities. The city would fund this in 2014 without deferring any pending projects.
    "The bottom line is that the city would have a $3.5 million, newly annexed road connected to a multi-million dollar interchange for a $1.167 million investment.
    The city wants to hear what the public thinks before the regularly scheduled July 25 board meeting. Contact Mayor Lyons at 302-2000; or an alderman via email, by phone or in person.
    Board members are:
    Ward 1 – Kevin Rucker, krucker@osagebeach.org; Ron Schmitt, rschmitt@osagebeach.org.
    Page 2 of 2 - Ward 2 – Lois Farmer, lfarmer@osagebeach.org; Steve Kahrs, skahrs@osagebeach.org.
    Ward 3 – Fred Catcott, fcatcott@osagebeach.org; John Olivarri, jolivarri@osagebeach.org.
        • »  EVENTS CALENDAR